Skip to main content

RI Safety and Health Training

 

OSHA Safety & Health Training Courses

in Rhode Island

 

   

 

Areas Serviced in Rhode Island

Providence Warwick Cranston Pawtucket East Providence
Woonsocket North Providence      

 

Popular Classes in Rhode Island

OSHA 10-Hour Construction OSHA 30-Hour Construction 40-Hour HazWoper
OSHA 10-Hour General Industry OSHA 30-Hour General Industry 24-Hour HazWoper
OSHA 10-Hour Maritime - Shipyard Employment OSHA 10-Hour Maritime - Marine Terminal Employees OSHA 10-Hour Maritime - Longshoring Operations
OSHA 30-Hour Maritime - Shipyard Employment OSHA 30-Hour Maritime - Marine Terminal Employees OSHA 30-Hour Maritime - Longshoring Operations

 

Who Enforces the OSHA Regulations in Rhode Island?:

Worker safety for private companies needing OSHA training in Rhode Island is regulated by the federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA). Rhode Island does not operate an approved state OSHA program for public employees at the state or political sub-division (e.g. municipal) level.

OSHA Regulations and Standards in Rhode Island:

Regulated employers needing OSHA training in Rhode Island are governed by the federal OSHA health and safety standards found in the 29 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). These include, but are not limited to, the  OSHA general industry standards in 29CFR1910, maritime standards in 29CFR Parts 1915, 1917 and 1918construction standards in 29CFR1926, and agricultural standards in 29CFR1928.

Rhode Island OSHA State Laws for the Construction Industry:

Rhode Island requires that all workers on municipal and state construction projects with a total project cost of over $100,000 complete the OSHA 10 hour construction course.

This requirement is for on-site workers, including: construction workers; contractors; project developers; site managers; and/or any other individual(s) working on a jobsite.

Law enforcement officers and/or jobsite security are exempt, as are all federal, state and municipal government inspectors.

Fines for non-compliance are between $250 and $950, per offense, per day.  This requirement began in 2004.

 Already required by five states in the Northeast, the OSHA 10 Hour Course has become an "industry standard" for both the public and private sector projects. Many contractors in Rhode Island also encourage supervisors to take the OSHA 30-hour course in order to better manage their 10-hour-trained workforces.

OSHA Jurisdiction in Rhode Island:

Federal OSHA exercises jurisdiction over most private employers in Rhode Island. Federal employers in RI also operate under the jurisdiction of federal OSHA. There is one OSHA office located in the state:

Providence Area OSHA Office

Federal Office Building 380 Westminster Mall, Room 543 Providence, RI 02903 (401) 528-4669

 

The OSHA national emergency hotline telephone number is 1-800-321-OSHA or visit OSHA website at http://www.osha.gov/

 

 

Safety Training and Consulting

Schedule an OSHA training or free risk assessment!